Chinese-Forums

home internet in Beijing

kedney

Hi all,

I will be moving to Beijing for about six months from June this year and was wondering how difficult it is to get internet access set up in a rented apartment. The last time I lived in China (Shanghai, about six years ago) I used to go to internet cafes where I could use my laptop on their connection, but this time I will be doing research and it would be more convenient if I can organise access at home. I am a student so plan on living in fairly standard accommodation, not a swanky place with satellite TV etc. My Chinese is fine (although a bit rusty) so communication is not a big problem. Can anyone suggest how to go about doing this?

I don't think it's hard at all. But it's probably easiest of all if you have a telephone line installed. Then you just add DSL. It was arranged for me by my landlord at the previous 2 apartments. It may already be available when you arrive.

Then you just pay your phone bill and DSL at the same time at a local bank, like Minsheng bank.

You may need a local chinese person to help you navigate the red tape the first time you set it up, but after a while you can do it on your own.

My bill is usually 100 to 200 RMB per month for phone and DSL. It might be less soon because my girlfriend moved out and she used the phone more than me. I use my cellphone more for calls.

I'd guess the majority of rental apartments in Beijing already have ADSL set up. It may have been suspended while the apartment was empty, but just make sure the landlord knows you want it and it will be no hassle to get up and running.

Quick note for anyone like MartinF still paying phone bills at the bank - if you get 网通充值卡s you can do it over the phone, just follow the instructions on the back. Saves the hassle of going to the bank if you don't have online banking. Though if you need to claim back the cost you might need the banks stamped slip.