Chinese-Forums

1 to 1 Mandarin

travoholic

Hi!

After a bit of research I'm planning on studying with 1 to 1 Mandarin. I've just arrived so nothing set in stone so I was hoping for feedback on this school. Had anyone heard good or bad things about them? Anyone studied there? Any advice would be great, even suggestions for other places. I'm thinking of 2 to 3 hours per day for about 5 months.

Thanks,

Kirsty

Their founder, a Thunderbird grad, posts here often. While navigating through his posts may provide some administrative insight, I feel you won't be getting the most unbiased of customer opinions by posting your inquiry on this forum.

• 2 months later...

I am currently studying full time in Beijing at a private school called 1on1 Mandarin. I have been studying here for 10 months now and I have to say that although Chinese will take a lifetime to learn, I am extremely pleased with my communicative abilities. I came to China not being able to speak an ounce of Chinese and now I can carry on conversations with locals with ease.

The strength of the school is 1 to 1 learning and custom tailoring the curriculum according to what the students want to focus on, be it Business Chinese, Newspaper reading, Conversational Focus, etc. As such classes may be slightly higher, averaging at about 100 RMB/hour, depending on how many students are in your class.

The school is flexible with start dates because programs tailor to the students needs, so you can come and sign up whenever you can. I think we have about 60 students taking classes at the school right now. They range from beginner to advanced level students. Most students invest 2 years of language study and rank at the advanced level; that is they are able to take the HSK examination and enrol in local universities.

The teachers at the school all come from the top universities of Beijing, like Peking University, Beijing Normal University, and Beijing Language and Culture University.