Chinese-Forums

Chinese education

SeekerOfPeace

I’m investigating the Chinese education system at the moment and I would be interested what you have to say about it.

I teach postgraduates, freshmen, sophomores, juniors, adults, kids, the works.

But at the university I teach, I’ve had some puzzling experiences with what appears to be the Chinese education system.

First off, my boss told me I couldn’t fail my postgraduates, no matter what. Another teacher who also happens to teach postgraduates told me she would fail them if they never came to class. I was quite surprised and confused when my boss told me this (I still am).

The other thing I’m wondering about if also about failing. If my students fail the class, they can do another exam to make up for it. In other words, if one of my student gets 0 this term, next term they can have another exam. If they succeed this exam, they still pass the whole previous term. To me, since I don’t understand the rationale, that seems rather dubious. What’s quite confusing about this, is that the person responsible for the English department strongly encourages me to make this second easier. She talked through covered words, but my interpretation of what she was saying is that nobody should fail that second exam. Why is that?

I’m kind of concerned about the value of the diplomas the students end up with. Considering they apparently can’t fail no matter what, just which conclusions are we to draw from all this?

I’ve also caught a fair number of students cheating. I talk to them after class and their explanations are quite stunning. A girl told me she had no time to study my exam so she had to cheat.

Other students told me they didn’t study the new words because they don’t like to do that. It seemed a good reason to them not study something and consequently fail.