Chinese-Forums

The whole "age" thing

tooironic

I'm curious as to what people think about that notion that if you don't learn, or are exposed to, more than one language before you become an adult, then you will never attain true fluency in a second language once you do become an adult.

I, myself, don't particularly agree with this statement, but I must say even in my childhood years when I started learning Chinese at school, there was always this ingrained idea in my head that if I wasn't fluent by the time I turned 18 it would all be a waste! As I am nearly 21 now, and still stuck at that intermediate/advanced level (depending on the topic at hand :P) there's this fear that fluency is just so far away!

Anyway, my personal neuroses aside, what is your opinion on age and its effect on language learning? Does it get harder, the older you get? Or does age, in fact, have a positive effect, in that it gives you the maturity, determination, and wider range of skills that might actually facilitate more advanced language learning?

I may be mistaken, but I don't think that the common understanding is that the older you are the more impossible it is to achieve fluency, but the more likely it is that you'll never develop a native accent.

Linguistic theories I've read state that once a child is past the age of 2 or 3, the part of their brain that tells them what is an acceptable and unacceptable sound, as well as the ability for them to learn to produce new sounds learned in a foreign language, shuts off. If, however, exposed young enough, perhaps pre-adolescence, this can be unlearned.

I tend to disagree with the "you'll never sound like a native if you're not raised bilingual." I think this is an easy cop-out for those who "can't" achieve native fluency. In my short 3 years of teaching I've run into a number of adults and teenagers who started learning "late" and yet have perfect American/British accents.