Chinese-Forums

Going to Aus. for 12 days - have 'Residence Permit' but no valid Visa to get back....

Chinese Learner

Hi,

I am studying beginners Mandarin at Beijing Film Academy. I came into Beijing on an F Visa that I obtained in Hong Kong.

This Visa expired on 3 April 2008.

I converted this to a 'Residence Permit For Foreigners In The People's Republic Of China' which expires at the end of July. So I have a valid 'Residence Permit' but no valid 'Visa' in my passport now.

I need to go to Australia for 12 days next week.

Question 1. -> Will I be let back into China with no valid Visa in my passport in 12 days time even though I have a 'Residence Permit'?

Question 2. -> Do I have to apply for a new visa to get back into China once I get to Australia?

Question 3. -> Where can I go to find out this information?

Thanks!!

Question 1. -> Will I be let back into China with no valid Visa in my passport in 12 days time even though I have a 'Residence Permit'?

I have a residents permit... and I have returned to the UK and come back twice with no problems and no visa... but I did have an x visa that was converted so am not sure if its the same for an f conversion...

Question 2. -> Do I have to apply for a new visa to get back into China once I get to Australia?

I did not...

Question 3. -> Where can I go to find out this information?

You can try the website of the embassy... ie I check the UK one you could check the Aussie one...

Your Residence Permit is your 'visa' and should be glued in your passport as any other visa. If not, I think there's some terminology confusion on what you refer to as a 'Residence Permit'.

A Residence Permit gives unlimited entries and exits, as long as the permit is not expired by itself.

To make matters easy for you: the last visa/permit in your passport is the only valid one, inlcuding the number of entries and expiration dates.

Hope that clarifies it a little.