Chinese-Forums

Visiting girlfriend in Beijing, a question...

Reinhart_x

Hey all, I'm planning on going to China this summer to visit my girlfriend. Some brief background information, not sure if it's entirely necessary but here goes. Basically, I met my girlfriend this past fall on a Disney college program, she's from Beijing, and I'm from the U.S. She's already come to my house on two separate occasions for a total of about 2 weeks, so she's met pretty much all of my family, they love her, and we've even gone on a trip to New York together, all within about four months, so we're doing quite well I'd say. :)

Okay, so we've been in this long distance relationship since January, and if you've ever been in one, you know how hard it is not to see each other, so we have arranged with her parents for me to go for a month and stay at her family's place in Beijing in July. They are all looking forward to seeing me and it's great, but as this is my first time leaving the country and needing a visa (I took a trip to Canada last summer and all I needed was a driver's license), I don't really know a whole lot on the subject. I'm told that I need a letter of allowance, signed by the person I'm staying with stating their name, address, phone number, and their relationship to me.

It would sound simple enough, but her dad was just really unsure of if they would let me come just to visit my girlfriend for a month on the L visa, so I had to come here and ask. I have a feeling they would, but again, I'm new to this, so I'm also unsure. I guess I just wanted some opinions, perhaps from someone who has been in a similar situation as my own. I apologize for dragging this out a bit, but that's just my style. I appreciate all of the help I get, thank you.