Chinese-Forums

Translation of an address

mulin

I've taken 2 semesters of Chinese, so I have some basic knowledge and understand quite a few characters.

I need an English translation for an address in China. Addresses aren't as easy to translate as I thought!

Here is the address:

中国广西省南宁市新阳北三路10一号9栋1单元602号房

Here is the part of the address I'm sure I understand:

中国广西省南宁市: China, Guangxi Province, Nanning City

Does "北三路" mean "North 3 Road"?

I don't get what "新阳" means, and I'm afraid I'm totally lost as to the last part of the address: "10一号9栋1单元602号房"

I would appreciate very much any help that any of you smart people can give me!

Here is the address:

中国广西省南宁市新阳北三路10一号9栋1单元602号房

Here is the part of the address I'm sure I understand:

中国广西省南宁市: China, Guangxi Province, Nanning City

Looks good so far.

Does "北三路" mean "North 3 Road"?

I don't get what "新阳" means,

Actually, it looks like the street is called "新阳北三路". See the #1 point of interest on the following map:

http://www.mapbar.com/localsearch/#ac=lc&keyword=%E5%8D%97%E5%AE%81%E5%B8%82%E6%96%B0%E9%98%B3%E5%8C%97%E4%B8%89%E8%B7%AF&city=%E5%8D%97%E5%AE%81%E5%B8%82&markerId=MAPPHNQBYWQMXWHNT

Also, instead of trying to translate it into English, it would probably be better to use pinyin: XinYangBeiSanLu.

I've seen some English business cards for Chinese companies here where they translated the address word-for-word and it made absolutely no sense at all.

and I'm afraid I'm totally lost as to the last part of the address: "10一号9栋1单元602号房"

10一号: 11 is the street address

9栋: building 9 in the complex

1单元: 1st entrance

602号房: unit #602.

Not exactly sure how you'd write this in English, however. The 单元 thing always gets me too. Maybe something like this:

No.11 XinYangBeiSanLu, Building 9, Entrance 1, Unit 602.

But no guarantees this will get your letter delivered to the proper destination. :)