Chinese-Forums

Which "Remembering Hanzi" will you buy?

foodtarget

Which version of Remembering Hanzi do you plan to buy?  

1 member has voted

1. 1. Which version of Remembering Hanzi do you plan to buy?

• Remembering Simplified Hanzi
    • Remembering Traditional Hanzi
    • Both
    • Neither

After hearing about "Remembering Hanzi" from the so-named thread, I looked at the samples and read some more opinions about Remembering the Kanji, and I am now thoroughly excited and anxiously awaiting the release of the first book. The only thing I can't decide is, which version should I buy? *I'm not trying to start a debate about the relative superiority of traditional/simplified, I'm sure there are threads for that elsewhere*

At school in America, we learned simplified exclusively, and I am now studying in mainland China (learning simplified, of course). Also, I plan to take the HSK this June and October, so it seems logical to purchase Remembering Simplified Hanzi.

On the other hand, I studied Japanese for a few years, before I started Chinese, so my first exposure to Hanzi was the slightly simplified but otherwise mostly traditional Japanese sort. I have continued to learn the traditional versions of simplified characters that I encounter in Chinese class, just out of curiosity. Also, I'm considering studying in Taiwan or HK in a year or so. And last but not least, I just like the way traditional look, my totally subjective personal opinion.

I guess I could buy both, but that seems a little redundant, and as a poor American college student suffering from the weak dollar, I don't have loads of "yuanage" to be throwing around. Other than the obvious fact that one is in traditional and the other in simplified, is there any difference between the books, like the characters included or their ordering?

So is anyone else having a similar personal debate? I'm interested in hearing the decisions others have made and their reasons...