Chinese-Forums

BLCU vs. BeiDa, application help

sirena3

I'm a graduate student interested in enrolling for a Chinese Language Course at Peking University. I looked at Beida's website and I could only find a short-term application form, I am wondering if there's a different one because I'm interested in enrolling for a 1 year Chinese Language Course (setember 2008). Also what are the tuition fees for a full year course? To apply, is it only that form that I need to submit?

From what I know of my friend that went to Beida last year, she had to fill out a short term form twice..once at her home country and afterwards while at Beida.

Also, what offers a better language course overall? BLCU or Beida? Because I have friends at both but they each have their own opinion..BLCU seems to be more 'relaxed' while Beida seems more academic..

Any help/advice would be appreciated!!

I'm currently in BLCU.... so my opinion might be a little basis.

I've visited both schools before I came to Beijing and I chose BLCU because the school is focused in teaching languages.

Aside from other differences in the two schools... I would recommend BLCU because if you need a tutor for example, there are domestic students in BLCU that is majoring in language education. My tutor is currently a graduate in teaching Chinese to foreign students, which is great for me because while she's not like my teacher, she is able to point out most of my flaws in Chinese with reasonable explanations.

While I'm not saying Beida isn't good for Chinese course, I'm just saying that the atmosphere in BLCU is more geared to teaching the language, Chinese, to foreign students.

I'm Japanese and I am going to study Chinese in BLCU in 2008 fall :D.

Based on my knowledge in Japan, it is difficult to apply Beida 1 year course now.

I heard the deadline of Beida 1 year course is March 31.

Beida also does not allow application from Japanese.

It only allows application from institution which arranges study in china.