Chinese-Forums

Teaching Music/Movies in China this Summer

magisterludi

I am a student at Columbia University and I will be teaching English in China this summer. My area of focus is Music and Movies. I will be presenting the class with a song each session and then will discuss the meaning of the song with the class. I want to make the class more interesting by choosing the right songs. They have to be in English and be not too hard to understand. The students are in high school.

I'm not sure if I should do pop music, and I'm not even sure what American pop music in China is. I'm sure Britney Spears is pretty popular, but I don't see much purpose in analyzing what "I'm toxic" means. I also don't think I should do rap because most of these songs are wildly inappropriate (I don't think I should be explaining what a ho is, or why American men love women with big butts).

I'm considering choosing songs that have defined American music through the decades, and adding in a few pop songs. I need some suggestions on what I should choose. They need to be songs that these students can understand and appreciate (they have maybe 5 years of English training in China). For example, Hotel California and Bohemian Rhapsoday are both definitive, but it's a bit too difficult to understand the meaning behind them. Other requirements: no sappy love songs, no Celine Dion or Sting. Movie suggestions would be helpful too.

Thanks if anyone can help,

N.

Well, I'm a teacher in China also, and I have tired to pick songs that meet the goals you listed. In the past I've played:

Radiohead, Tori Amos, Louis Armstrong, the Beatles, Ricky Martin, Pink Floyd, Leadbelly, the Cure, the Clash, Bob Marely, Coldplay, U2, Bob Dylan, Janis Joplin, the Fugees, and others.