Chinese-Forums

Have started learning mandarin could need some tips!

fiddefisk

Hi there I'm a 18year old boy from Sweden who's thinking of moving to China next year (I'm 99.9% sure it will happend I got the economy for it etc.)

Anyways, I started studying mandarin some days ago, I bought a character book, a pinyin book and a grammar book. I would consider myself as an easy learner and I have already learned close to 150 characters + some "combinations" words.

But the thing is that I don't know how I should continue my studying. I mean I'm studying all alone and it feels pretty hopeless to get the right pronunciation of words when I don't got a teacher correcting me.

So wouldn't i be logical for me to focus almost everything I got on the characters and grammar? And leave the speaking until I get to China (where I'm planning to take chinese classes).

Spending my time in China sitting in my room studying characters dosen't seem like a big hit either.

So what are you saying?

Get a good textbook, like the New Practical Chinese Reader.

Get some elementary lessons from chinesepod.com

Learning characters and vocabulary is important, but on its own, it's a fairly pointless exercise.

And Sweden is full of Chinese people, try a university. Somebody might be able to help you with your pronunciation from time to time, especially if you help them with Swedish.