Chinese-Forums

Studying in Beijing through Homestay?

travel2china

Ni hao!

So, I've been looking all over the internet for a good homestay program in Beijing. I'm sort of going through the final stages of program selection. I'm pretty new to the world of Chinese study (I took a few years in college), so I joined this site looking for some advice.

Anyway, I've done a lot of research and it looks like I want to go with Lotus Educational Foundation. I'm doing a final run-through to see if anyone has any final comments on this particular program. I saw a few other posts about Lotus but they are from over a year ago. Has anything changed since then and do they provide all the services they promise? Any other suggestions? Is this a good time to go or should I wait until next summer? I want to go during the Olympics, is this a good idea? My goal is to both get a better understanding of China, study Chinese and come away with a greatexperience.

Thanks for any and all advice.