Chinese-Forums

Learning Queen's English in London

rezaf

I want to take a break from Chinese and go to London to study English for a month during the summer vacation. Actually I want to go somewhere with more European classmates, any suggestions?

I want to take a break from Chinese and go to London to study English for a month during the summer vacation. Actually I want to go somewhere with more European classmates, any suggestions?

I studied and lived in Brighton (just some kilometers south of London), UK is a very nice country and i had lots of fun, especially in summer!!

.. about more European classmates i'm not sure..

In my school there were mainly asians people (that's why i got interested in Asian cultures and China), anyway, maybe you could choose European schools like Eurocentres, Sprachcaffe,...

Be aware that if you go during European school holidays, you may end up in a larger class than usual, mostly with 16-18 year old teenagers. I did a couple of months teaching over the summer several years ago at a school in Hastings (like Brighton, but cheaper. And less nice) and while the classes were generally fine, the older, longer-term students were complaining that classes of 4-6 committed students were doubling in size with Spanish teenagers who wanted to play games all day.

But maybe you'd like to play games with Spanish teenagers, I don't know.

Just make sure wherever you go is British Council Accredited, that should make sure you get reasonable quality.

Yes, roddy is right.

In summer you may have teenagers classmates that are not serious about studying English, but i think you can easily find older students too.

Many of my friends where in Brighton only for couple of weeks during their work holiday. Just check with the school before.

And yes, British Council Accredited is also very important.

If you're interested in Brighton let me know, i can give you some more information :)

Yes aimee, I want to know more. I appreciate any information.