Chinese-Forums

Visa Question: Changing student visa from university to another

poly_99

Hi everyone!

I was wondering if someone could help me out. I'm currently studying in Wuhan china and Im on a student visa that expires August the 1st. I plan on coming back next year to study, but not too wuhan, and i'm not sure where yet. I'm thinking of dalian, xi'an or kunming and i'm going to visit them all before i go home in july.

The problem is with the olympics and me having limited time when i get home i was planning on telling my current university i want to study here next year, getting my permit extended for one year, and then when i come back going to the new university (say in dalian). Will i then have to go to the PSB and change my permit? I was planning on coming to china in august and then registering for classes and find a place to rent.

Will that be a problem? This seems a lot easier to me than going home, getting a new X visa, coming to china, getting a medical and changing it into the residence permit, especialy with the olympics coming and the short time i'm going to be in my home country.

What do you think of my plan? Are there any obvious drawbacks, apart from the dishonesty and feeling a guilty about my teachers.

Thanks!

if you check your study visa in your passport, you'll notice it has a big red "cancelled"

on in, which was done when you got your residence permit. it should be your residence

permit that expires in august.

if you don't renew before expiration, which would require registering for classes and

paying tuition, you'll have to start the whole process all over, getting the jw-202 from

the new school and applying for a new visa from the embassy.

(are you planning on returning next year, or in august?)