Chinese-Forums

Chinese setting their own standards

wix

There was an interesting article in Next (the computing section of The Age) yesterday. The article titled 'Confusion as China breaks with protocols' by Stephanie Hoo reports that China is adopting its own standards for various technologies. For example, it has developed EVD as a challenge to DVD and TD-SCDMA to replace the GSM and CDMA cellular phone network standards.

The reasons for doing this are several. It avoids the need to pay licensing or patent fees. I guess those Chinese people developing these new standards believe they are better than the original too. The downside, I guess, is the incompatibility with foreign sourced technology.

I am not expert in these areas but I would be interested to know whether others think this is a good or bad idea.

I am no expert either. But don't Japanese also have a mobile phone system totally incompatible with GSM? And Sony likes to develop things unique to its products, hoping that they get popular (e.g. memory stick, and that music format called "Att" something that I can't recall).

If the Chinese standards are good, perhaps people would like it. Who knows?

this is a good idea. :D competition between standards leads to better standards, although one can survive in long run.

as a programmer and engineer, i'm learning all standards to provide continuity for clients worldwide.

i'm happy that China is returning to the same type of innovative fervor last seen in the Ming dynasty. :D

I am not sure how far this will go, but it is a good idea - it may temporarily delay the capitalists from controlling world standards and markets entirely...

additionally, DVD is one of the most retarded standards ever (first you pay too much and then they thank you with their regions system) - it's only right that someone should not heed to it. Thank god for hackers and crackers everywhere