Chinese-Forums

Limited resources for written Cantonese! How can I learn written grammar?

Kaim Argonar

Hello everyone. It's my first time to the forums. :)

I took one year of spoken and written Mandarin, but I preferred Cantonese and want to switch now. Because I must continue learning written grammar, I am obligated to find a resource which teaches spoken Cantonese, using audio tracks and Yale Romanization, alongside the traditional characters. However, most resources do not include characters.

What is my best approach for learning spoken Cantonese and written grammar together, using self-teaching tools?

Thanks!

Cantonese isn't a written language so it's a bit harder a task than putonghua. Not speaking for myself, but rather my Cantonese wife and friends here in Guangdong. No one knows cantonese pinyin at all, although jyutping seems to be a more popular method than yale from what I have observed on the net. Maybe it is used in HK some, but everyone uses hanyu/putonghua that I have ever met for the standard writing system. I can spell in jyutping better than any chinese person I have ever asked about it, and I barely know any haha. That is probably why you are having trouble finding resources that include characters rather than cantonese romanization. I'm not saying it doesn't exist, but if all the locals are speaking canrtonese and writing mandarin, it's might be easier to do the same.

Cantonese isn't a written language... everyone uses hanyu/putonghua that I have ever met for the standard writing system.

This is not quite true - no offence, BrandeX :)

While you'd be hard-pressed to find official documents written in Cantonese, some people do write in "colloquial" Cantonese - for example, personal blogs, the late Cantopop lyricist and writer Wong Jim, and the HK tabloid the Apple Daily.

I know of quite a few Cantonese learning materials which use characters, to name a few:

• Intermediate Cantonese: Themes for Listening and Speaking, Phillip Yungkin Lee