Chinese-Forums

anyone else at beida?

dev

I'm doing a homestay, but might do the dorms after the first semester. Just out of curiosity, how much should I pay for the cab ride, and how much is a "rip-off" price? I know the airports they will try to charge you an arm and a leg, I'll try to bargain with my rusty chinese. What Chinese level are you at in Beida, and are you taking only Chinese classes? Also, I am 95% sure I'm going to the Beida Chinese study for foreigners, but I also got accepted to BLCU's program. Would you chose Beida over BLCU? Thanks for your help.

• 2 weeks later...

I'm not studying at Beida, but I hope to be! I am currently a student at the University of Chicago and would like to study Chinese in China. I hear that UChicago has an agreement with Beida for exchanges. I would like to spend 2005-2006 there if possible. I tried navigating their website, but I would like some more info/input on the whole application/studying abroad at Beida process. What's the difference between the Mandarin study program, and just being a visiting scholar? I really have no idea about the whole process. Can one take extra courses (say, in Chinese history or something like that) at Beida if one is in a language program? Any thoughts/suggestions? Do they offer any courses in English (silly thing to go to China to take an English language course, but I may be interested in take a course or two relevant to my major)?

I do plan on talking to the study abroad advisor, but just would like a heads up so I at least think I know what i'm talking about!

Thanks!

• 2 weeks later...
Do I actually need to take the HSK exam to get accepted into Beida? I want to study just the mandarin programme, not any of their Master degrees...