Chinese-Forums

Japanese or Korean?

opper567

I am an Undergraduate student in Chinese at an American University. I really want to go to graduate school for Chinese and I was wondering if I should take Japanese or Korean for a research language? I'm enrolled in both for next semester, but which one should I take most seriously for developing reading knowledge?

Are you an American? So you're learning Chinese and Japanese or Korean? Why not use Chinese for your reasearch?

My preference between Japanese and Korean is Japanese but it's really up-to-you.

Few things for Japanese over Korean choice:

1. There are much more resources for Japanese. The amount of written material on the web is massive, especially taking into account that although Japanese is a major country, its population is not so large. Anyway, there are much more Japanese speakers than Korean speakers.

2. If you are learning Chinese, Japanese language is another language that currently uses Chinese characters - called "kanji" in Japan. Note that there are much less "kanji" in the current usage in Japanese than in Chinese, there are big differences in pronunciation and usage. You can't simply transfer your knowledge of Chinese characters from Chinese to Japanese but it may make it easier.

3. Japanese pop-culture industry is much more developed and interesting (this is my subjective opinion) than Korean, so learning Japanese will give you benefits of getting to know manga, anime, pop-songs, movies, which, of course, also exist in Korean but to a lesser extent. Also, again my subjective opinion, I like the sound of Japanese more than Korean but you'll be the judge.

Korean over Japanese:

1. More people use Japanese than Korean, perhaps you want to be different from the mainstream?