Chinese-Forums

is 9k reasonable in GZ?

ronny3247

hello people.

i have a job opportunity as an english teacher in guangzhou. 18 hours teaching time and 20 hours prep. so a total of 38 hours work per week. salary is 9000RMB per month and accommodation is not provided. i have a bachelor's degree in an unrelated field and no TEFL experience.

in this context, i would like to know whether 9k is reasonable or not.

any comments would be appreciated. thanks.

That's going to be at the bare minimum, and only if it's really great otherwise, or has some good benefits. Usually if its a full time 40 hour at a training center, you should be pulling over 10k. I am currently getting 13 and a half for 16 to 18 hours weekly, with almost no prep, maybe a couple hours a week extra time, (this isn't a "standard" job, I'm working for/with koreans and off the book so to speak) but with no other benefits outside of straight cash salary. For a legit place, they should definitely be giving you a Z visa, and in the neighbor hood of 10k + benefits (air fare, accomodation, etc.) if you are in Guangzhou. Now, if this is a public type school (didn't sound like it, but not certain from your post), then 9K plus benefits would be pretty normal, but I'd expect a couple more K and/or benefits from a private place for full-time work.

BrandeX, thx for your reply. it's a private language school. they arrange the visa and pay for the airfare, but no accommodation. from what you said, 9k seems low. if i could get 12k out of them would it then be reasonable? otherwise i might look for a different job.

There are lots of black sheep in the market. Get as much information as you can and insist of talking to other foreign teachers in that school. I would ALWAYS presume I get cheated in China and would really require proof to the opposite.

Here is one teachers horror story: http://www.whiterabbitsmom.org

I would ALWAYS presume I get cheated in China and would really require proof to the opposite.