Chinese-Forums

Living Permit duration shorter than Visa?

Entropy_Rising

Hi folks,

So I get an "F" Visa to study for one semester here in China. Written clearly on it is "duration of each stay - 180 days after entry." This all totally makes sense to me, as I'm studying a semester and so I figure I'll be given half a year -this makes even more sense to me since in 2005 I studied abroad in China and at that time was also given a 180 day F visa.

Then there's this question of a temporary living permit - 居留许可. I taught English for a year last year. I received a Z visa for this - on it, it says the validity is 000 days after entry. That confused me at first (this was my first work visa), but it all made sense after I arrived on scene and received this temporary living permit which had a clear duration on it. Aha! Says I. In this situation the visa is more for entering the country and the temporary residence permit sort of kicks in once you're there - if you want to know when you have to gtfo, then look at the residence permit.

So here's my situation - I have an F visa with a clear validity on it. I've had a personal experience 3 years ago with the samer visa, though of course rules change over time. However, I'm told I need to get a temporary living permit. I'm a little thrown off, because I didn't have to get one for my old F visa and when I did get a living permit for the Z visa, the Z visa didn't have an expiration date (so that it would not conflict with the living permit). Furthermore, before I came it seemed very clear on the school's website that students staying more than a semester are the ones required to getting a living permit. But in China you roll with things, right?