Chinese-Forums

getting back into Chinese

taobenli

Hello all-

I am an anthropology grad student in the US and my region of study is NOT China, but South Korea. Although my undergraduate major was Chinese and I could speak and read quite decently by the time I finished, I spent a year in Japan after graduation teaching and learning some Japanese (wish I knew more), a year in the U.S. at an intense, low-paying job pretty much not studying ANY language, and now the last four years studying Korean pretty intensively for my graduate studies.

The issue is that I'd really love to work my Chinese up again, especially since I anticipate doing some comparative work in China (or perhaps more likely in Taiwan) later in my academic career- people researching Korea ALWAYS have to also learn some Japanese or Chinese or both (and I know both well enough to meet this requirement, but not well enough to live up to my own standards).

So, I've got a little more time this quarter than I sometimes do, and am set up with a Chinese language partner at least once a week. I am looking for a good book to study with my language partner and on my own. In college I went through the Integrated Chinese series, and also other advanced books as part of the Associated Colleges in China program. In a readings class a few years back (one of my earlier attempts to get back into Chinese) I was working with a book called The Independent Reader by Vivian Ling (all traditional characters) and at an earlier stage also used her Talks on Chinese Culture (which might be better for my current deteriorated level).