Chinese-Forums

UIBE Business Chinese Program

otterbaby

Hi,

I am looking into the UIBE Chinese Language Training Program for Business Chinese next semester from March - July. The curriculum aims at improving students' spoken and listening proficiency in business Chinese, and teaching business writing and newspaper reading. http://www.uibe.edu.cn/upload/up_dfs/ehy.htm

I am a Business major from the US, and I think this would be more helpful for me in the future. Is there anyone who has studied there or has heard of the program? What did you think of it, and would you recommend it? How does this compare to other Chinese language intensive programs?

Other questions are -- how was the housing, the teaching, the interaction with other students (int'l and/or local)?

Where is UIBE located, and how far is it from the central Beijing city (BNU, BLCU, BeiDa)? How long does it take by bus?

Thank you in advance for your feedback! :)

• 3 months later...

I studied for one semester in 2005.

The first question is how is your Chinese? There's an English program with Chinese language classes and a full immersion Chinese program. I took the full immersion classes because I wanted to accelerate my business Chinese, but it wasn't the best method because my Chinese wasn't good enough to understand all of the lectures (although having a business background helps). They say they go a bit slower for the foreigners, but its basically the same class that's taught to freshman Chinese students.

The language classes centered on general business conversations, a lot of import/export, although the newspaper classes had more variety because it was usually the headline business story for the week.