Chinese-Forums

Visa confirmation letter

mudhead

I am a 65-year-old retired professor. I recently signed a 6-month contract to teach ESL at a language school in Chongqing. For obtaining my Z-visa (work visa), the director of the school sent me the Foreign Expert Work Permit (外国人在华就业许可) from the Foreign Experts Bureau, together with an invitation letter from the school.

When I went to the Chinese Embassy in Ottawa two days ago (10 Oct), my request for a work visa was refused by the visa officer. He said I didn't have the required Visa Confirmation Letter (被授权单位签证通知表), and that the invitation letter from the school was useless for this purpose.

On every Chinese Embassy website that I have looked at, the requirements for obtaining the Z-visa are clearly stated: one must present both these documents. The Visa Confirmation Letter is supposed to be obtained (as I have since learned after some searching) from the Foreign Affairs Office or the Economic and Trade Office of the province, in this case Chongqing Municipality.

It seemed to me that there were two possibilities. Either the director didn’t know about the Visa Confirmation Letter -- but how could this be, he has been in business for 10 years and has hired foreign teachers before! Or he did know that this letter was required and didn’t obtain or send it -- which raises other difficult questions. In either case, I had no further confidence in the school. So I wrote to him last night, told him what had happened, and requested that the contract be canceled.

Today the director called, very upset, and asked me what was this document that I was supposed to present, and where was he supposed to get it? He said that this was the very first time he had heard of it. All the foreign teachers he had hired previously had come to China on tourist visas, which he had had converted to work visas in Chongqing. He asked me to bear with him for a couple of days till he discovered what this confirmation letter was all about.