Chinese-Forums

How to say "do you *ever*' do something" (as opposed to "do you do something")

Entropy_Rising

Hello,

I was at the first meeting of the foreign language club at the Chinese university I'm studying at. There weren't many members and since it was small and since the main activity of the club is talking, I wanted to ask "Do you ever go out and eat together?" But I ended up not asking the question as I got lost in thought trying to figure out how exactly to say that.

My knee-jerk attempt would've been "你们出去吃饭吗?” or as a member of the club “我们出去吃饭吗?” But I get the sense that doesn't completely convey what I'm trying to say because the "ever" concept is missing. I don't want to say something along the lines of "Are you guys going out to eat?", I want to ask if this is a part of the group's habitual activities, or even if it could possibly become such a habitual activity.

For example, imagine if you wanted to ask a Chinese person, "Do you ever go to the movie theater?" which is actually a pretty sensible question to ask in this manner since most Chinese I know of actually don't go to the movie theater as it's far more cost efficient just to buy the pirated DVD. Would I say “你去电影院吗?” Is there any grammar construction or word to capture the meaning of "ever" in the English sentence?

Thanks.

Doesn't that mean "Have you ever" instead of "Do you ever" ?

I think they are quite similar...In fact, it should be "Have you ever..." rather than "Do you ever...".

I understand it as "Haven't you ever....?"

This is 难道你从没XXX吗?

Jialihai Jiejie

I think they are quite similar...In fact, it should be "Have you ever..." rather than "Do you ever...".

The difference is that one asks if somebody has done something (in their life) at least once, while the other indicates a certain habit, something that happens from time to time, and that has a chance of happening again.

In the threadstarter's situation, I'd ask "do you ever" as well.