Chinese-Forums

Mnemosyne flashcard sets and plecodict

huaqiao06

I've just started using mnemosyne to improve my character memorisation.

Right now i'm creating flashcards based on the vocab lists in my school textbooks but that's very time consuming, so I'm looking at the flashcard sets avilable online

http://shengci.wojas.nl/mnemosyne

I'd like to ask:

- is there a comprehensive set, e.g. with the most common3000-6000 characters? (basically a mini-dictionary)

- can you extract cards from a set in mnemosyne and make a new deck with them (e.g. if I wanted to make lists of the words that I'm currently studying in class?)

- how have these online sets been compiled (e.g. are they based on widely available textbooks? obviously the HSK ones are based on the test contents)

I'm also considering getting plecodict 2.0.

Given it has a flashcard system, I'm wondering whether plecodict users find they still need to use a computer-based flashcard program like mnemosyne?

Also if anyone has an opinion on what platform (PDA or smartphone) is best for running plecodict 2.0, I'd love to hear it.

thanks in advance

I can only speak for the HSK portion (which is based on widely available vocabulary, also available from this site), but Konrad's set also includes vocabulary from different textbooks, including the very popular Integrated Chinese. You can also find vocabulary from another popular textbook, NPCR, over at http://www.yellowbridge.com/chinese/flashcards.php, but I don't know if you can export them and save them.

The most reasonable thing you can do if you're not using one of those, IMHO, is to input the words from each new lessons yourself. Then you'll remember them better, and also learn words that you've already covered. There is little point in memorising words from a textbook you're not using yourself. In that case, I'd just go with the HSK vocabulary, which is quite relevant, and update it with the odd words you run into that are missing from it.