Chinese-Forums

Need Advice

thelightedtorch

I would like to go to China to live with my husband and two young daughters (4 and 2). I speak mandarin and want to study at a reputable university. My goal is to teach Chinese at the Defense Language Institute from which I graduated 7 years ago. My husband wants to study Chinese martial arts. I want my girls to speak Chinese fluently. We want to live in a good city that has reasonable prices where we can do all of these things. Where should we live and where should I study?

Some questions that will help us cater to your situation: Where are you all from? Where do you currently live? You mention that you already speak Chinese; do you speak with a standard Mandarin accent, or do you speak a dialect? Where were you born? Where was/were your husband/children born? As you already speak Chinese, I'm assuming you're a 华裔 and that your children are 混血儿, is this correct?

We want to live in a good city that has reasonable prices where we can do all of these things.
My goal is to teach Chinese at the Defense Language Institute from which I graduated 7 years ago.

I'm not familiar with this Institute. Do they have campuses throughout China? If so, that's going to limit where you will end up. If they only have one location, then that's the only place you can go and still reach your goal.

My husband wants to study Chinese martial arts.

What else would he do? If he's white, he'll have no problem finding an English teaching position. If he also is a 华裔 than his options will be very limited.

two young daughters (4 and 2).
I want my girls to speak Chinese fluently.