Chinese-Forums

Learning to Speak and Listen BEFORE Reading and Writing. Mistake?

PinYin55

As you all know very well, Chinese is complex. And, as an english speaker, you have to learn new sounds, new tones, and a whole new system of writing.

Since I cannot afford classes right now, I am learning by myself. However, I am finding I can learn how to speak/listen MUCH faster if I just learn via pinyin and ignore the chinese characters.

So, my tentative plan of attack is to learn how to speak/listen at least moderately well before worrying myself with the characters.

Also, as another plus, I figured it would be easier to learn to read/write once I have a solid understanding of the language.

So, to me, it seems like this method is better in every way. I learn to speak faster, and learning to write should be easier/faster.

I mean, this is how children learn their first language. They learn to talk, then they learn to read in school.

But, since I have no experience, I figured I'd ask you experienced people:

How did you learn?

Is there any particular benefit to learning both at the same time?

Am I making a mistake not learning both at the same time?

Thanks for any help. :)

First of all, everyone is different and has their own best study method, so if you find learning listening and speaking first to be advantageous to you, then you may as well stick to it.

I am also self-taught, though I started with reading and writing. This wasn't a deliberate strategy, but rather a result of the circumstances (resources) available to me at the time.

What I would say, however, is that learning to read and write chinese is a much longer process than simply learning to speak and listen, and therefore, if you want to eventually be competent at all skills, you may not want to delay the reading and writing for too long.