Chinese-Forums

HSK Vocab Lists/Semi-Funtional Literacy

weilian

Hey all,

Some background, I've studied Chinese for the first five months I arrived in China in an intensive one-on-one program that brought me from zero to a descent spoken level. I took off the past six months and worked, enjoyed the Olympics and now I'm back at the same program in a non-intensive one-on-one course. I'm studying two hours a day and I'll have time for a language exchange with a friend several times a week probably for a total of 6-8 hours as well.

While a one to one student teacher ratio helped out my oral Chinese, I've been quite frustrated that my written isn't up to snuff. Not being able to glean much from a newspaper without a opening a dictionary every fifth word is a big bummer too.

I'll have time to do some out of class studying, independent of the language exchange (which I hope will fill in some holes in my oral vocab).

Now to the question - I'm thinking about taking the HSK database and putting it into a Mnemosyne file. I've put the first level in an its obviously easy, going through about 150 words a day (both writing and reading because it helps it stick). I'll slow down a lot with level 2.

What do ya'll consider the efficacy of this to be? Also...my formal study has also switched to more reading/writing/grammar versus oral communication.

Best,

Weilian

1) There already is such a file for Mnemosyne

2) I have very positive experiences doing this. The key is to combine this flashcarding effort with reading, speaking, listening, and anything that will help you hear the words in context.

Virtually all the words in the HSK lists are really important and something you should learn sooner or later. I found it to help my oral vocabulary too (more in terms of listening than speaking, though, but I guess it's a matter of practice).