Chinese-Forums

Thai.

pazu

Started studying it when I arrived in Bangkok back on -89. I used it now at home as my family is thai. Passed grade 6 exam. in 1990 and I've been working as freelance interpreter for more than ten years.

สวัสดีครับ

I lived in Bangkok for almost a year and visit Thailand regularly. I am ashamed my grasp of the Thai language is so poor. I am really only competent in the basics of the language. Where are you from? How old are you? What time is it? and similar.

Glad to hear that some people in this forum are fluent in Thai. I'm indeed now still in Vietnam and still learning Vietnamese (far from fluent...), but I'm thinking of going to Thailand for a break and learn some Thai.

Are there any similarities between Thai and Chinese? I'm searching for some textbooks now but still find none. Do you have any suggestions on Thai textbooks? How about Teach Yourself Thai and Colloquial Thai? I'm interested in reading and writing the alphabets too.

Thanks a lot for any input!

When I reconsider your question about textbooks for the Thai language

from a beginner´s point of view, I would recommend:

The Fundamentals of the Thai Language

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/offer-listing/9748867544//002-6253096-1880010?condition=all (funny price, used to be 20-25 $)

Check out the Courses and materials of the AUA:

http://www.auathai.com/

have fun,

Ole

There are not many similarities between Chinese and Thai, except that thai is also a tonal language. It has five tones (high, normal, low, rising, falling) and its alphabets are based on ancient Sanskrit which came to Thailand via Cambodia. A Thai king, Ramkhamhaeng modified them to be suitable for Thai in late 13th century, during the kingdom of Sukhothai.

I learned my Thai in a school which had its own material. There are plenty of books in Bangkok for those who want to study the language.

or do you know if it's easy to buy them in Thailand?
(Pazu)