Chinese-Forums

Learning Chinese fast in China

mokahome

I'm currently studying in Beijing and will do almost anything to learn as much as I can over the next 4 months. I'm not scared of putting in the effort, but have no idea about how to go about it.

I've largely been using flashcards to build up my vocab, and while my memorization pretty good (near perfect scores in listening and writing tests covering 150 words), very little of what I'm learning is filtering into my spoken language.

It appears that I've only trained myself to remember words, and not to actually use them. With the limited time I have, should I just continue on as I have or refocus my attention elsewhere? For example, writing, reading, songs, movies/tv, street Chinese, tutor, language partner?

One thing that might help is that when you learn new words, try to slip them into conversation somehow, even if it means stearing the conversation in such a way as to allow you to slip them in. This may make the conversation somewhat artificial, but the more you use these words, the quicker you'll be able to recall them when needed in a genuine situation.

Hi, what helps me in learning is to try to use the words I learned as often as possible. Already when memorizing new vocabulary I try to make sentences with the new words. moreover, i once heard that after using a new word like 5 times or so it really starts to move from your passive vocab to your active vocab.

Making an effort is key to increasing the range of vocabulary you use when speaking. I used to be a language teacher, and know this sounds obvious, but it's amazing how many learners don't do it. The most important factor in successful vocabulary development is effort. Because you can't see whether, or how much, cognitive effort a learner is making, it can seem as if another person is making progress effortlessly - and they're not.