Chinese-Forums

China vs. USSR era political edit, maybe. example.

querido

Was the following a "joke" sufficient to save this book which might otherwise have been banned for its friendly treatment of Russians, at that time?

I'm studying a famous old book, "Modern Chinese: A Basic Course", Dover edition 1971 . It was formerly titled "Modern Chinese Reader", first edition 1958, second edition 1963. The original audio was recorded onto discs sometime before 1971 (1963, I think).

Here is the historical background according to Wikipedia:

"The deterioration of Sino-Soviet relations in the late 1950s and early 1960s resulted in tensions along the 4,380 km (2,738 mi) border between China and the Soviet Union. A particularly serious incident occurred in May 1962, when 60,000 ethnic Uyghurs in China's Xinjiang crossed the frontier into the Soviet Union, fleeing desperate economic conditions. Beijing immediately accused the Soviets of subverting the Uighur population, a charge later supported by some Chinese historiography, though never properly substantiated."

So, there was some official anger boiling in 1963.

This book was originally prepared for mainly Russian students in China (I can't remember my authority for that). One of the characters is Russian, and wherever the Russian language is mentioned, it is as 俄文, which should be éwén (Wenlin and nciku). This is the pronunciation on the audio too. Yet, wherever this word appears in the text, the pinyin has apparently been altered (the font is different) to èwén, which corresponds to one word in Wenlin: 饿纹 = 饿 (v. starve; adj. hungry) + 纹 (lines, patterns) = "lines on corners of mouth, foretelling death by starvation" (Wenlin, nciku).

That was ugly, for that time, or for any time.

In Taiwanese Mandarin 俄 is pronounced as è when used in the sense of "Russia" or "Russian". You might want to check out this thread.