Chinese-Forums

Translation of 送下去。 + help with pattern verb + direction + 去/来

MengJiaSheng

It would be great if someone could help me with this translation. How exactly do I have to translate 送下去 in 一会儿我先给您把东西送下去。

As this shows I am really unsure about how to use this pattern and how to translate it. So is there any rule about how to use these verb +direction + 去/来 structure and how do I know which verbs can be used with it?

As a novice, I won't translate that sentence for you, but since nobody else replied yet, I will say that the grammatical pattern you noted is called directional complement, specifically complex directional complement. I think you can find some information that is better than what I could say by searching the forums for these terms. (Or else in grammar textbooks, where I semi-learned this device.) One forum thread I saw by doing said search that could be helpful to you is

http://www.chinese-forums.com/index.php?/topic/8700-complex-directional-complements&highlight=directional+complement

Also, here is a simpler sentence using V+下去, for whatever it's worth:

我们慢慢地走下去吧。

Let's walk (or go) down slowly.

约翰好

The sentence would translate as 一会儿我先给您把东西送下去 = I/we'll send it/them to you in a short while, very soon, etc.

As YuehanHao already mentioned, in your sentence it is one of the 趋向补语s = directional complements, with both 下 and 去 indicating direction. Here's a brief intro to how it's used:

Firstly,下去's basic meaning is to go down, descend, indicating downward/further direction, what with it's basic definition of 向下面/由高处到低处 as in:坐下 to sit down. Compare it to 下 without 去 indicating capacity: 这座车能坐下50个人