Chinese-Forums

Request: Handling large volumes of vocabulary

Olle Linge

hello,

ZDT have been my trustworthy companion ever since I started learning Chinese, and in general, I have nothing to complain about. However, I have thought of some features which would make the program much better. These problems didn't occur until recently, because one needs a lot of characters before they become significant. I have over 5000 entries now and here is one suggestion that would make it much, much easies to handle:

- Allow subdirectories

I prefer to keep my words separated into the various chapters of the relevant books I found them in, but this is very annoying when you have hundreds of categories (it takes a while to scroll).

Furthermore, subdirectories would also allow me to choose more quickly which words to test for the flashcards. Right now, I have to select a lot of folders, which is a bit annoying. Having the option of sorting my characters more efficiently would be great.

Here is another suggestion:

- Enable some search for duplicate entries

Right now I have to export the database, open it in an external program, search for the character, go back to ZDT and remove the overlapping entries. Not very convenient. Sometimes, it's also hard to spot duplicates.

These are just suggestions for making an already outstanding program even better. I will continue using ZDT, but especially the subdirectories would make me very, very happy.

Regards,

Snigel

I agree, especially on the duplicate search. Maybe something like "compare this category with this one", with the option of deleting duplicates in the second category.

I would use this to compare new vocabulary lists with my HSK list, so I can practice only the ones I haven't studied before.

Another suggestion: merging and seperating categories, especially merging. At first I also added lists by chapter, but as I get more familiar with the words I'd like to merge the chapters into a single list.

For duplicates: