Chinese-Forums

Confusion with Teaching Credentials

Baggerking

Sorry if there was a thread that addressed this before hand, I tried the search and could not find anything.

I am a teacher in China, a unqualified, hop-over-the-fence, young, dumb, and ugly educator that you see so often walking around the streets here in China. But I didn't plan to be this, and I don't want to be. I wanna get my Teaching Certificate. I want to become a damn spiffy teacher.

So... CELTA. Online Tesol. Stuff like this. There's a lot of them. I don't know what to do. Which one is the best? And I mean, not just in China. After I learn Chinese maybe I want to go to South America or something. Will the non-CELTA diploma be good in South America as well? It seems a bit focused on Chinese Students.

My situation is a bit special, however. I teach full time at a school, have great friends, students love me, pay is good, life is wonderful, and I don't really want to leave. The city I live in has no teaching certification courses. Online seems the way to go, because I could stay and do it in my spare time. I could do online right now, and then later grab a CELTA or whatever. There's a lot of Online courses, does anyone know of any that are decent and not too expensive?

Any recommendations/warnings/thoughts for this young, dumb, and ugly rebel without a cause?

The most widely accepted TEFL course is the one-month, full-time, certified CELTA or CertTESOL. Anything else might help, but in terms of global recognition and the mobility that brings, is going to be a distant, distant second. That's not to say the other courses aren't useful - but if you're a DoS choosing candidates with certificates you do, and don't recognize, which CVs are you going to keep? What else will get you into British Council schools?