Chinese-Forums

Mandarin / English News Talk - a current events group

storyline

I'm a newbie here and this is my first post, but I have to say how extremely impressed I am by the quality of postings and the organization of this site. Great to be here!

I'm moving to Beijing in July and would like to pick up again something I used to do and enjoyed a great deal doing in NYC: putting together a current events discussion group. (New York News Talk Meetup). This time I'm thinking that I can do it in Mandarin as well. Is there any interest in this sort of thing? Or in a test run up here?

My idea is that we can meet weekly and discuss a news article (picked out in advance and available online. The Guardian in both languages recommended by roddy would be a perfect source). We can do one hour of English first, and then another hour in Mandarin. This way it can perhaps attract more native Chinese speakers to participate.

Right here with this thread we can perhaps also have some discussion? I'm really interested in the example article roddy provided the link to. Thanks, roddy.

The Chinese translation of the article is excellent. There're just a few quotes that I cannot find in the original. (我认为G20之所以重要,是因为中国带来了建议,带来了让步,带来了参与。" "没有中国,G20不可能获得成功,这一点非常重要。“没有中国,你不可能解决世界经济问题;没有中国,你不可能解决气候变化问题;没有中国,你不可能解决世界贸易问题;而不理解中国在非洲所扮演的新的角色,你也不可能与非洲建立真正意义上的合作关系。” “这不意味着一个排除俄罗斯或印度在外的G3。但这确实意味着欧洲自身必须进行变革和发展,形成一个统一的声音。”) Not sure why.

As an acknowledgment of China's status from the British foreign policy leader, and at the same time serving as a reminder for EU as to its stake in the game, Miliband's perspective is not so much new but duly nuanced. It can serve US well too, if we are listening.

I learned a few phrases: "峰会" and "作比" among others. Have a little issue with "The EU-China relationship is a good case for the Lisbon treaty" being translated as, "中欧关系是里斯本条约[所存在问题]的例证". I'm reading up on the Treaty of Lisbon. :wink:

But over all, good stuff!