Chinese-Forums

HSK Level and NPCR Book

fstop

I'm planning to take the HSK Elementary/Intermediate exam. I'm curious about the approximate HSK level to the NPCR books. For example, if you have mastered the NPCR up to book 4, what is the approximate HSK level that you would probably get? Or is there another way to approximate your HSK level. It doesn't have to be very exact. Thanks!

I guess it depends which HSK test, but I studied NPCR up to book 4 and I've continued studying for the last eight or nine months. I think perhaps a 3 on the Intermediate test? From the practice tests I've taken(I haven't taken the real thing), its apparent that there is a lot of grammar and vocab that isn't introduced in the NPCR series that shows up on the HSK test.

I think perhaps a 3 on the Intermediate test?

I don't agree. HSK Basic is not that basic. After competing certificate IV part-time, only a few students ventured to do HSK Basic. One advanced student could have taken HSK Intermediate but she decided not to in the end. I passed OK. Quite happy with listening and grammar, but I didn't managed to read what I had to read and answer the questions. It was the worst part for me.

You can manage with vocabulary given in 4 volumes of NPCR to take HSK Basic but you need to be a good and quick reader and be able to fill in the gaps (the words and expressions you don't know).

Thanks for the reply. I'm aiming to get at least HSK level 6. Based from the feedback, I'm probably at Level 2, long way to go. My speaking and listening skills are way ahead of my reading and writing, so most people will overrate my overall Mandarin language skill. In order to achieve level 6, does it mean that I need to study beyond the NPCR volume 5? So if you know the materials of up to NPCR volume 5, around what HSK level will you probably get? Thanks.