Chinese-Forums

HSK levels

Iluvchinese

Hello,

I am quite confused that all the HSK flashcards posted here on the forums are level 1-4??? I thought the HSK has level 1-11?? I am very confused....can someone tell me what it actually means?

I'm currently studying for the HSK intermediate and what level is that using the "flashcard" scale of 1-4?

Thanks,

Andy

Yes, it is confusing that they use numbers for 2 different things.

There are 4 main levels: basic, elementary, intermediate and advanced. You can give each of these a number, these are the 1-4 numbers.

On the other hand you have 11 HSK levels:

11 Advanced A

10 Advanced B

9 Advanced C*

8 Intermediate A

7 Intermediate B

6 Intermediate C

5 Elementary A

4 Elementary B

3 Elementary C**

3 Basic A

2 Basic B

1 Basic C

So I believe you should be studying the HSK3 flashcards.

Regards,

Bert

The flashcards are vocabulary levels, not the grades you get on the HSK.

HSK Basic covers HSK grades 1-3

HSK Elementary-Intermediate covers 3-8

HSK Advanced covers 9-11

For HSK Basic, you need the flashcard levels 1-2

For HSK Elementary-Intermediate, you need flashcard levels 1-3

For HSK Advanced, you need flashcard levels 1-4.

These flashcards are a bit dated, and definitely don't cover absolutely everything. Also, there are other things you need to pass the HSK -- listening, grammar, reading skills, etc.

But they are a good gauge of progress and a good gauge of the vocab you need to do well on a given HSK exam.

I just took a mock test of the HSK intermediate and it was so hard....I'm chinese and my family is chinese too but I haven't done chinese properly for over a year (I didn't take lessons, just read stuff with a pop-up dict, then stopping for 2 weeks when i had school exams) and now I start lessons again (once every sunday).

I got a 187 score....

My listening was the best score, then grammar and the rest was just horrible...