Chinese-Forums

HSK Basic - some thoughts

crjcrj

I have been studying at a language school in Beijing for about a year, but the first few months were on and off and I didn't progress much. Since CNY I have been pretty consistent attending 4 hours a day, although I don't do my homework or have much time out of class to study (two young toddlers to take care of, and family life tend to get prioritised). My teacher says she has taught me 1500 words, but I only remember 1000 haha - I am the slooowest student in the universe, well at least in my school.

I studied NPCR 1 and 2, and Boya Chinese 2, and started the next level of Boya (light blue) as well as a few of the Spoken Chinese books (two?, but I really didn't learn much from those). I am now preparing for the HSK along with my regular classes.

When I thought about the HSK at first, I thought it was just for more 'traditional' students who want to get into university or get a job. But I decided I wanted to take the Basic (Levels 1-3) HSK just to get a feel for my level, and for about 200 rmb and a morning in a test center, why not?

Well, SURPRISE! I am so impressed, the practices tests are EXACTLY my level! I feel like they consolidate all the things I have been learning, but in a different format. Even the things I get wrong (which is about 50% of the grammar! although I am managing about 90% on the readings), I think to myself 'hmm, that looks familiar, I know I have studied it, but just forgot'. It is absolutely brilliant to see everything I have studied (and forgotten) all consolidated in one place. The reading sections are great too - some are 'easy' and there is one hard one in each test that has lots of government words and statistics, but I love the challenge and it is sooo nice to have reading that is not just from a text book or the Hanyu Feng books which I have read all of a few times by now.

I just wanted to share this perspective for a few reasons: