Chinese-Forums

L, F, or X? 4 months study abroad! URGENT

megadubitably

Hello, I am studying abroad in Xi'an for a little over four months, starting September 8th to January 11th. I am the first from my school to do this, and no one really understands the whole visa thing (and nor do I, I have never been out of the U.S.A. before). I was told to apply for an L visa, and I went to Chicago to do that, and the visa officer wouldn't even accept my application (saying it was illegal, I would get deported after 90 days, my ink was the wrong color, etc...). She told me to apply for an X visa, even though I'm only staying for 4 months, not over 6. I'm missing my JW201 or JW202 forms as well (my Chinese school is supposed to send this to me, correct? Are they difficult to fill out or complete?). I've read that F visas can be for short term study (3-6 months), but again, the visa officer told me that I need to apply for the X visa.

Any help would be greatly greatly appreciated, I need to get everything together and go back to Chicago in less than two weeks (my flight is on the 7th of September). I don't need a health check to get the visa, do I? I'm getting typhoid shots today...

So far I have:

U.S. Passport

Passport photos

The 2 page Visa Application downloaded from the Chinese Embassy website

Letter of Acceptance from my Chinese school