Chinese-Forums

Need help writing something in Chinese

trisha2766

Hello! (This is my first time posting here, and I'm not sure if I chose the right section to ask this in - so please forgive me if I should have posted elsewhere.)

This probably sounds silly, but I want to make a t-shirt that says something like:

"I'm learning Chinese. Please talk to me, I need the practice."

I don't know exactly how to say it, but this is what I've come up with so far:

(And I'll write it 3 different ways, because I'm not sure how writing tone marks or characters works on forums like this either.)

Wo3 xue2 xi2 Han4 yu3.

Qing3 ni3 shuo1 wo3.

Wo3 yao4 lian4 xi2.

Wǒ xuéxí Hànyǔ.

Qǐng nǐ shuō wǒ.

Wǒ yào liànxí.

我 学 习汉语.

请 你 说我.

我 要练 习.

Things I'm not sure about how I'm trying to say it are:

1) Should I use Han4 yu3 or Pu3 tong1 hua4? Could 'Hanyu' imply a different dialect than Mandarin?

2) It seems like something should go between the 'shuo' and the 'wo' in the second line, but I have no idea what. gen1 , yi4qi3?

3) Is 'yao' the word I should use for the last line or would xiang3 (想) be better?

Or am I completely wrong and need to start all over with it?

Thanks for your patience!

You can't say:

请说我。

because it's the wrong word order in Chinese. :) There's this phrase 跟 。。。说(话), so:

"I'm learning Chinese. Please talk to me, I need the practice."

我学习中文。请跟我说话,我需要多多练习。

wǒ xué xí zhōng wén 。qǐng gēn wǒ shuō huà ,wǒ xū yào duō duō liàn xí 。

汉语 & 中文 both refer to Mandarin, so you can use either of these. Actually I've heard 中文 used more often as in: 他懂中文。 or 你会中文吗?

Thanks for all your replies!

I hadn't thought of using 在/zai, that makes sense.

I've never heard of 需/xū and its not in my little dictionary. What does it mean?

leeyah - what does the duō duō/多多 mean in this context? That I need a lot of practice? (Which is of course true!)