Chinese-Forums

Beginner - what is the best way to learn chinese?

AlexanderH

Hey guys --

So I'm a total novice, but I'm moving to Beijing next summer. Most likely for several years.

Anyway, what do you think is the most cost effective way to learn Mandarin?

E.g. Attend a local community college course (probably about $500 for 1/2 year, meets 2 hours a week), and put in self-study time.

Or buy one of those audio tapes series, and then do self-study time? Obviously there would be around a ~$400 price difference, but let's say that money doesn't matter.

Should I take the community college intro to Mandarin, then just do some self-study materials also? I can mostly likely put in 1-2 hours a day outside of class.

Thank you!

Taking Chinese lessons only 2h per week is a waste of time - at least it is for me.

Progress is extremely slow and you end up forgetting more than you learn. You will most probably only be discouraged by the non-progress and then drop the whole thing.

Since life is short, do as much, as fast as you can. For instance 3h every morning, 5 days a week. My personal daily limit is about 3h.

Do that for about 3 months and then take a short break. Then continue.

The objective of the above is to, as fast as possible, get out of a "helpless" state so that one can start using the little Chinese one knows in one's daily life. At that point one will start to have some successes that will encourage to continue studying.

Also, use as many sources/opportunities for learning as possible. Get a electronic dictionary that you can carry with you. Either Pleco for your palm/wm mobile, or one of those things that you can buy in almost any department store in china.

Use flashcards and practice with them daily. Set up a scheme so that you get repetitions based on how well you know a certain card (pleco2 is pretty good at this)

Make a habit of looking at road signs, posters, adverts trying to figure out what the text says.