Chinese-Forums

learning chinese

Scoobyqueen

I guess it depends on the situation. If I am with my wife, then people wouldn't be surprised, as she quite clearly hails from the Middle Kingdom.

I keep trying to encourage some of my friends to take up a foreign language, then we'll be able to experience the rigours of study together. :D

I get all kinds of reactions too. Some people think it's cool, but most people seem to think it's kind of weird. If I said I was learning Spanish or French, or even something like Russian, the reactions would be different.

I worked at a really nice hotel/convention center for a while. Most of the businessmen that came in would tell me it was "a good idea. Their economy is growing like crazy, you'll be able to work for a big company." Some people would say something like "might as well, we'll all be having to speak it soon enough anyway." That was always funny.

But by far the most common one I get (when I tell them I'm majoring in Chinese) is "what are you going to do with that?" :roll:

It’s hard to say what kind of reaction I get, since for most of my time learning Chinese, I’ve lived in the mainland or Hong Kong. In the mainland expat community, even if people don’t know Chinese, I think everybody’s in agreement that it’s something they should at least attempt to do.

However, I was in a Western expat café in the Mid-levels in Hong Kong a few weeks ago, having breakfast and coffee while reading 蘋果日報,and I certainly got a lot of uncomfortable stares from other people. I’ve noticed this phenomenon quite a few times in Hong Kong. So, if I’m reading Chinese in public, I try to choose places that have a decent amount of privacy (such as tables being far apart), and hopefully no one really notices me.