Chinese-Forums

Forgetting chinese after studying?

Maqqie

Hey Guys,

My apologies for not contributing too much to these forums in terms of advice as I am fairly new to the realms of studying Chinese independently. I do hope however my own threads and questions will help others in the future.

I have been studying Chinese for about a year now at university along side my accounting degree. For a while now I have been thinking about studying in China for a year and I was planning on doing this at the end of next year once I finish off my accounting degree. I have been looking forward to this, particularly because I am hoping that through the one year of study in China (purely just Chinese language study), I will come back with a fluent intermediary level of the Chinese language.

However for the past few days I have been thinking again. How many of you have gone to China for a year or more, come back and completely forgotten the language (after say 2 – 3 years of not practicing anymore)? This is my concern. I don’t want to spend a year of my life, learning a language that I will inevitably forget when I come back.