Chinese-Forums

Some help setting a few goals

Lycar

Hello everyone as this is my first time posting here.

On to the point, I have been studying Chinese off and on for the past year and a half (Finished the intermediate book of Integrated Chinese). My Chinese teacher decided to take a job over 3 states away so I no longer have anyone to practice with in real life and have thus had to start teaching myself. (My college offers what they call SILP which stands for Self-Instructed Language Program but I figured I'd save myself $450 since I'd be teaching myself anyway).

Basically I am looking for a few members to hopefully post their suggestions on a couple goals I should aim for / check my progress by and maybe even a timeframe. What have other members here found challenging to complete in a certain amount of time, things like that. I have a tendancy to bite off more than I can chew when I set my own goals so I am looking for a more level headed person who has been through this stage to hopefully suggest a challenging yet achievable goal.

My current study habits: Basically I use flashcards I bought from a local bookstore and use these while in transit between school and home or anywhere I know I will have to wait 15+ minutes. I learn 34 new words a week and review all of my old words each night thanks to the above mentioned notecards. I know I need to start listening to and reading more Chinese and I am currently looking into graded readers to order along with some (hopefully) simple dialogues on CD that I can listen to in transit as well.

Sorry for the long rambling post.

Basically I am looking for a few members to hopefully post their suggestions on a couple goals I should aim for...