Chinese-Forums

Two English versions of Hong Lou Meng

Kenny同志

To my knowledge, there are two English versions of 红楼梦(Hong Lou Meng), one by 杨宪益( Yixian Yang) and his wife 戴乃迭(Gladys Yang), the other by British sinologist David Hawkes and his son-in-law John Minford. I am now reading the Chinese original and as a now- amateur translator I plan to go about the two English versions when I am done with the original. Is there anyone who has finished the book, and how does it feel?

Your comment will be received with gratitude!

There are some threads discussing the translations, with a couple of posters stating that the Hawkes translation is the better read.

http://www.chinese-forums.com/index.php?/topic/3181-literary-classics-what-makes-for-a-good-translation&highlight=David+Hawkes

Literary classics: what makes for a good translation?

http://www.chinese-forums.com/index.php?/topic/277-dream-of-the-red-mansionchamber&highlight=David+Hawkes

Dream of the Red Mansion/Chamber

http://www.chinese-forums.com/index.php?/topic/20225-four-great-classical-novels&highlight=David+Hawkes

Four great classical novels

There are two other translations not in print but available on line. There are links to both from this blog, which also makes some comparisons about their merits.

Actually, David Hawkes died a couple of months ago leading to some discussions of his work in the British papers. This article is written by Fu Ying, the Chinese ambassador to the UK. This is a full obituary.

I find it fascinating that he never returned to China after leaving in 1951 yet maintained a passion for and fluency in the language for the rest of his life.

This book was a passion of mine. I've read both the Yang and Hawkes translations as well as, eventually, the Chinese original. 加油 kenny2006woo. I would be very interested to hear how you go.