Chinese-Forums

Graduate study in China?

Tsunku

Hello all

I've been thinking about applying for graduate study at the Beijing Film Academy sometime in the near future. I majored in Film and Asian studies as an undergrad, and I've always intended to get a higher degree. Film school here in China seems like an interesting option. Does anyone have any experience studying subjects other than Chinese at a Chinese university? The BFA website wasn't particularly informative, although it did say a HSK 6 score was required for admission, and an "above average" score on some specialized admissions test which I haven't a clue about.

Anyhow, any thoughts on graduate study in general, and film study in particular?

-T

Are you sure they only require a 6 on the HSK for grad study? That is what most universities require for admission to an undergrad program. Most liberal arts grad programs will require at least a 9 (advanced C); I've heard of some non-arts grad programs that will take a high intermediate HSK score. Make sure when you enquire that they understand that you are applying for graduate study. A lot of grad programs have never taken a foreign student before and probably have no idea what standard to look for. I guess that could work for or against you.

They've got a website here http://www.bfa.edu.cn/bfa_english/international.html which says the HSK score required for graduate study is a 6. Undergrad only requires a 4, perhaps because film is more of a technical major, requiring more hands on training than book-learning? It seemed a bit low to me too, but there ya go. I think that BFA, being a fairly prestigious film school internationally, has had a fair number of foreign students studying there.

Thanks for the reply though. I'm still in the very beginning stages of hashing out this plan, and it helps to get input.