Chinese-Forums

Helping a Chinese speaker improve her English fluency

character

I'm doing a language exchange and am looking for ideas. She seems to struggle most with (in decreasing order):

- including articles (a, an, the)

- verb tenses

- vocabulary/slang/set phrases

- pronunciation

Frankly, if my Chinese was as good as her English I'd stop studying.

Things I've tried:

- Lots of dialogue/correcting mistakes I notice

- Created a braindead Python script to strip most articles out of a text file

- Giving her a grammar book and an exercise book

- Pointing out web resources

How would you help someone who is 85%+ fluent?

Do you know of a good book of English exercises, something with lots of example sentences to correct, not quizzes such as "put these verbs into the pluperfect subjunctive"?

Thanks!

I'm not an ESL expert, but it sounds like she could do with a lot of exposure to listening/reading material aimed at native speakers. She'll probably be able to understand most of it and it'll help her develop a feel for the language. Perhaps you could recommend something she would be interested in and then discuss it afterwards, answering any questions she might have about the linguistic aspects of the texts, but also focussing on the content?

How about focusing on one thing at a time, like articles for example or maybe just "the". Try to find different ways to bring her attention to how they are used in sentences. Find some examples of English that you think she would understand and circle all the articles to make her aware of them. After looking at the examples you might come up will some different ways to have her make sentences with articles in them and give her a chance to see the mistakes she is making. Pay careful attention to the types of mistakes she is making, it might give you a clue about why she is making it and how to bring it into focus.