Chinese-Forums

when to study in China

hongputaojiu

Hi guys

To get the best out of my semester studying in China, with the ultimate goal be comfortably conversational, when do you think is a good time to come to China?

That is, how many semesters of study at home is "enough" or "not enough" from your experience?

I am studying 6 credit points per semester, which is roughly 15hrs a week, but with only 2hrs tutorial per week, the rest is self study.

Another way of putting it is, is it better to go to China after 3-4 semesters at home, and then continue my university program upon my return at a higher level or spend an extra few semesters at home studying and then go to China?

My decision only needs to made based on which would be better for my language learning!

Any advice from your experiences or those you've studied with would be much appreciated!

best wishes

hongputaojiu

My home university recommends going abroad after four semesters in Europe, which equals approximately 1000 hours of coursework if I'm not mistaken about the credit points for the Mandarin courses. This seems a pretty good guideline to me, since it's enabling me to move from learner-oriented material towards native-speaker material. At a glacial pace, obviously, but it's still good to be able to read a newspaper with a dictionary instead of reading only those boring Integrated Chinese texts.

We did have a lot more classroom hours than the two hours/week you mentioned, though. We also had to take approximately Classical Chinese (about 300 hours of coursework), which is proving rather useful as my reading is moving on to authentic material.

I think generally, the better you're in Chinese, the more you'd benefit from being in China. However, the sooner you're in China, the earlier you'd benefit from being there. So, you'll have to balance the two, taking your own circumstances into account. From these two basic reasons, ask yourself: "When would be the-optimal-time-for-me to go?"