Chinese-Forums

Creating goals for a slacker

xuechengfeng

Hi all,

I haven't posted on here in a long time. I graduated in 2006 with a degree in Chinese. At that time, I was probably pretty decent and around a 2 on the State Department level. I've been to China 4 times since then and spent nearly a year in country, but a lot of that has been basic tourist junk. I took the language test for FSO position this year and failed miserably.

I've struggled most with making and keeping up with goals. I want to try this next year to achieve a higher level of Chinese, beyond what I was even when I graduated. I must do this for my sanity because of the money I spent on a degree.

What can I do, short of going to China and studying? I ask because I'm in graduate school and have a couple job offers, but nothing that will send me to China to learn or update my skills.

Do any former intermediate, current advanced learners have any tips?

I find it hard to set goals, especially when nobody is gauging your progress. :roll:

Will be tricky to stick to goals if you don't have any actual immediate use for the language. Could you perhaps aim to retake that exam (or another one) sometime later in the year - even if you wouldn't actually want the job now, the idea of going back and succeeding at something you failed at earlier could be a good motivator. A late 2010 HSK sitting to aim for? Or promise yourself a trip to China at the end of the year, on the basis that you are going to arrive with better Chinese than you've ever had before.

Or smaller, more regular goals - aim to watch and understand an average of three Chinese TV shows per week for the next year. Work through the First Episodes on here, watch more of anything you actually like, and in the process you'll likely pick up a lot of Chinese. Pick a book or something at the level you'd like to reach by the end of the year and figure out what you need to do on a weekly basis to get there.