Chinese-Forums

A few questions

Liebkuchen

Hi there!

I'm a 29 year old British female who is hoping to escape from her badly paid, no-prospects clerical job to go to China in Autumn 2010 to ride out a bit of the recession. I need some advice and ideas.

I did an evening class in Mandarin back at uni but as I've forgotten most of it, I'm barely above a complete beginner. I'll have about £8000 saved by the time I leave ($12000).

Option 1 is going travelling for a couple of months where I can indulge in sketching, painting, taking reference photos to do my own art project as well as see lots of the country. But my chinese will be nil. Would a couple of weeks intensive lessons be of much help in this situation? Or would I gain so little to be much help that it would be a waste of money?

Option 2 is doing an academic year at a university. How many hours self study a week would I need to put in to get a grasp of the lessons? Can language students join the student clubs (I'm thinking art and sport)? How do employers see this option when you've got a good, but no where near fluent grap of the language? Is it possible to get scholarships from the universities for subsequent years study? Has anyone found using a year this way has led to negative responses from employers?

What would you guys choose to do in my situation?

Welcome on board Liebkuchen

I'm a 29 year old British female who is hoping to escape from her badly paid' date=' no-prospects clerical job to go to China in Autumn 2010 to ride out a bit of the recession. I need some advice and ideas. (...) [/quote']

What do you mean by "ride out of recession"?

Do you just want to forget about the recession for a while, or do you want to make a step forward in your career?

If you are looking for a way to step forward with your career, please let us know what is your educational background (apart from a short course in Chinese)? What skills do you have?